2012 Poster Awards and 2012 Outstanding Educator of the Year: Jennie Struijk

By Angela Blood

 2012 Poster Awards

At the annual meeting in San Diego, California, the Grants and Research Committee, chaired by Cate Nicholas, organized the poster judging and awards. Within the category of Innovation, first and second place awards were given. Of the many excellent poster presentations, the following awardees presented particularly outstanding work: 

Outstanding Innovation First Place Award

Audra Lehman, Toro School of Osteopathic Medicine
“Introducing Osteopathic Medical Students to Clinical Competencies in the Preclinical Years” 
Co-authors: Cee Harrelson, Rebecca Howard

Outstanding Innovation Second Place Award

Shelby Marx, University of North Carolina
“Undergraduate Pre-Med Students as Standardized Patients: Learning Clinical Skills before Med School”
Co-authors: Katie MaGee, Donald J. Woodyard

2012 Outstanding Educator of the Year: Jennie Struijk

Jennie Struijk, MEd, Manager of Clinical Skills and Assessment for the University of Washington Health Sciences, was namedthe 2012 Outstanding Standardized Patient Educator of the Year at the annual conference of the Association of Standardized Patient Educators (ASPE) held in San Diego, CA.  The ASPE Educator award is given each year to an individual who has made significant contribution to the field of SP education and is recognized as a leader within their own institution, the SP community and by national and international organizations.  Jennie was recognized for her work within ASPE as a Founding Board member and current Chair of the Publications and Website Committee.  Special mention was made of her ability to recognize upcoming trends in the field, the quality of her mentorship of fellow educators, and her ongoing development and moderation of the “SP-Trainer” listserv since 1996.

%d bloggers like this: